top of page
  • Writer's pictureMAC

5 Ways to Tell if You have a Strong Work Ethic



Growing up I started working early. I worked 9 hour days on holiday's and breaks from school. I picked up odd jobs through family, working long, hard hours. And you know what, it was good for me. It installed in me an ethic that carried me into adulthood. I feel for the kids that miss out on that kind of opportunity. Anymore, you just about have to be on a farm to learn what a hard day's work feels like.


Men are meant to work. We're meant to produce for ourselves, and our families. Laziness has no place in our world. Unfortunately, too many are missing this fine quality today. So here's 5 ways to tell if that's you:


5. Wake Up Time


Are you a roller? That means hitting snooze and rolling over. If so, you'll want to fix that. Sleep is important, you need it to recover your mind and body. That said, waking up is important too because there's things to do. So get off the pillow and get to work.


4. Consistency


Are consistently on time and at work? Or are you the call-off guy? No body likes a flake, and consistency goes a long way. I remember when I was about 16 and I started a job doing landscaping. The first day was brutal, we put in a dozen trees, beds, and all sorts of stuff in the summer heat. By the end of the day I could barely walk. The next day I got my aching body up, and went back to it. The boss couldn't believe it. He said they went through about 6 guys, and nobody could make it to day 2. I couldn't believe I did, but hey, a man's got to get paid. So be consistent, and show up on time. whether you like it or not.


3. Reliability


Kind of like consistency, reliability is other's ability to trust that you'll get done what you say you will. Do you finish? or do flake? In the Army I learned the importance of this. Your brothers and sisters need to know they can count on you when the time comes. So if you're unreliable you need to fix that asap.


2. Hours


Life's going to give you long hours. Are you ready to put them in? Early mornings and late nights is a staple to a good work ethic. When I was a kid, after work, my grandfather would go down into the wood shop and work until 9 pm. That man didn't stop. And he taught me something. The value of time vs. accomplishment. A man has to be willing to put in the hours if he want's to get stuff done. There's no secrets or short cuts to this. It's just a part of life.


1. Attitude


How's your attitude? Are you the guy who shows up, and gets it done? or are you the guy who stands around and complains all day? A good attitude goes a long way. And if you're really not feeling it that's fine. We have a saying for that too; it's called, "fake it till you make it". If your attitude sucks, start acting. But don't be the complainer. There's enough of those to go around.


With all that, are you an early riser who is consistent, reliable, willing to put in the hours with a good attitude? If not, write these things down, and hold yourself to them. You'll be amazed how they work for you if you work them. I learned mine at an early age, and nothing beats practice. So go get yourself in a place where you can practice these skills if you don't already have them.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page