top of page
  • Writer's pictureMAC

It's Time to Trim the Fat



Dudes.


It's time to trim the fat.


Ever consider that the luxuries that are apart of your daily life are getting in the way of your goals?


No?


Well, it's a good thing you're reading this.


So I'm going to breakdown a bunch of things that could be getting in the way of your goals.


1. Vices


Drink? Smoke? Soda fiend? maybe your relationship with Little Debbie is getting too personal. Whatever your vices are, they are probably interfering with your time, your money, your health, and your relationships. Give up the vices, and you'll soon find you're getting all those things back, one day at a time. Plus no more scratch off's. Those things never pay.



2. Entertainment


yI know. I love sitting on the couch and binging Netflix too, however all that entertainment starts to add up. That $200 cable bill is costing you $2400 yearly. Netflix is running you $120, Amazon prime's got you at $50, plus all those movie rentals, and that music subscription. Maybe it's time to take back all that dough and put it into a savings account, or towards debt, or towards getting out of the suburbs, or buying cool stuff from my store at https://society6.com/stratiotes. I know you want that tumbler. It's only two months of no Netflix away.


3. Eating Out


Buy yourself a large pizza every week at $17.00? Well that's $884 a year, or a vacation your spending on pizza. Wonder why your church tithe is so weak, but there's always an extra $10 in your pocket for a Big Mac? Probably because you're eating out too much. My recommendation: Meal plan. I've been guilty of this one too, however, going to a weekly meal plan makes you proactive and budget minded. So time to say goodbye to the drive thru.


4. Hair Cuts


What? No more haircuts! yup. Guess what I did. I taught my daughter how to use the clippers. I've saved over $300 since that. If you go weekly at $20, that's $1,040 a year you're giving to the barber. At even half that it's worth doing yourself, or having a buddy help you out. Seriously, a $30 investment in some clippers is going to pay dividends in a 12 month span. And besides, we're men, and looking pretty isn't on our priority list. We need to be clean, not pretty.


5. Unnecessary Junk


Got a thing for trinkets? Like that little bobble head Groot waiving around your car? I do to, but I'm not paying for it. Buy what you need, and realistically what we need is very little. So spare yourself, because in 3 years it's going right into the trashcan. Unnecessary junk is a waste of time and money.


As men, we need to be concerned with the present and the future. Always thinking, always planning, and always moving. We should be getting better, not worse. I have goals, I have dreams, and I have a family to take care of. If these things are getting in the way of that, then it's time to drop them. I won't die without a Twinkie, and neither will you.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page