top of page
  • Writer's pictureMAC

Beretta 92: Here to Stay



Remember that old movie Lethal Weapon? Or how about Die Hard? Or Robocop? Or the Matrix? The Beretta 92 has been featured in movies than I can count. It is was also the choice for the US Military for over 30 years. So now that's it's out on the military side, is it still good to go? And the answer to that is definitely yes!


Every man is born with the duty to protect themselves and their family. Unfortunately, the world on a whole does not understand at which is why we have so many of the problems we have today. But anyway, this isn't a rant about a persons right to life, this is about how to best do it. And the 92 is a really good place to start.


I bought mine a few years ago when I was selling guns for an outfitter. With all of the guns under the sun to pick, for some reason I picked the 92. I think it was just nostalgia from being in the Army, and also the awesome discount I got for it. Either way, I've owned this gun for about 5 years now, and it is amazing.


So let's look at the upsides. It shoots great, and recoils little. It's more accurate than most shooters ever will be. It's insanely reliable, and the magazines are dirt cheap. I picked mine up for 10 bucks a piece, Army surplus. And because it's so widely used worldwide, parts, and availability are through the roof. And did I mention, the head nods at the range. This gun is a classic.


So how about the downsides. It's big, heavy, and the double action trigger on mine sucks. For whatever reason the Italian ones are much better (I have the M9 variant). The standard variants also don't have a rail either. And the front site is milled, so have fun trying to change that. And did I mention big? You probably won't be concealing this in your speedo any time soon. But if you do have to conceal, there's the compact version, and some old 90's single stack compact versions as well, which are super cool (Feel free to buy me one for my birthday).


In the end, the choice is yours on what you choose to spend your hard earned money on. But I don't think the Beretta 92 is going anywhere anytime soon. I've enjoyed owning and shooting mine. I trust my life with it, and the life of my family. I know if it was the end of the world, you could do a lot worse than having one of these.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page