top of page
  • Writer's pictureMAC

My Favorite Translation (s)



There's a lot of good Bible translations out there. There's also a lot of bad ones. I've been reading the Bible for a few years now, and there are certain translations that I've come to like, and some that I don't for various reasons. Below is a quick review of my personal favorite, and my runner up.


The Holman Christian Standard Bible


This translation is no longer in print. Holman has the CSB out now, which is ok, but I prefer the HCSB. I'll do a comparison later. Anyway, I've been reading the HCSB since I became a Christian. As a matter of fact, here's a picture of my first Bible




I got this guy in Afghanistan. I straight pulled it off the shelf, and used it for years before I retired it. There's something very personal about a man's Bible. Something unique, and special. So, yes, even though the HCSB has been officially retired, it is very much alive in my life. I think it's a wonderful translation. Perfectly blended in a word-for-word way, but yet in modern English. Sometimes, these new translations lack the poetry they should have. That's where my runner up comes into play


The ESV




Like the HCSB, I've been reading the ESV for some years now, and I love it. Honestly, I don't have a good reason for liking the HCSB more. I just do. But like I was saying, the ESV is a fantastic, and beautiful translation of God's word.


So in the end, it's up to you to read what you will. You now know what I like, maybe post a comment below or something about what you like. And if you need advice on choosing a translation, feel free to message me.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page