top of page
  • Writer's pictureMAC

Christianity: Free Trial



I’ve been a Christian for some years now. As I grow in my faith, and in the word, I’ve seen God working in my life. He’s gradually unveiled things to me, like Reformed Theology. Likewise, He’s shown me good preaching, and teaching. And He’s shown me bad preaching and teaching. But most of all, He’s shown me the hard truth of Christianity, of what it means to be a follower of Christ, a disciple, and a son…and its not easy.


But first, before I go into what Christianity is, I want to share with you what it is not. So below are some things it’s not:


It’s not a cool club

It’s not about getting stuff

It’s not about money

It’s not about the 10 steps to a better whatever

It’s not about feeling goodIt’s not about being liked (actually, it’s probably the opposite)

It’s not about being acceptedIt’s not about fun

It’s not about the cultureIt’s not about being comfortable


If it hurts, it’s because I love you.


I see too much fake Christianity. A Christianity that cares about the looks, and the culture. A Christianity that cares about the seats, the money, the books, the stuff. To be honest, it sucks. There’s too much self-centeredness going around for any one to be of any use. And we wonder why the church is failing in the west. Because it’s about the comfort, and self. So with that rant over, here some things Christianity is:


It’s God’s grace to the elect

It’s self-denial in service to God

It’s uncomfortableIt’s humblingIt’s truth

It’s going to anger people

It’s going to cost everything

It’s going to be unpopular

It’s going to require sacrificeIt’s worth it


Jesus didn’t voluntarily go to the cross so the world could enjoy latte’s, and beanies (really don’t like those things). Jesus died to save sinners, those unworthy of salvation, but given nonetheless because God is holy, righteous, loving, and merciful. God calls us to lay everything down and to not look back. That’s not easy, but it’s worth it.


If your life is too easy, too comfortable, too isolated, please ask God what is going on. Something probably is. All Christians have been called to work for the kingdom in different capacities. If you don’t know what your job is; ask. If you’re not in the kingdom; repent in faith, place your trust in Christ, and get to work.

12 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page