top of page
  • Writer's pictureMAC

Sola Scriptura

Updated: Jan 23, 2019




Let scripture interpret scripture. Isn't that how it's supposed to go? I think so. But do we do that? Or do we let man's doctrine interpret it for us? I've spent years of my life searching for the truth. And I think any committed believer does the same as well. But do we try in vain when the voices of others are too prevalent in our minds?


Over my time as a believer I spent a lot of time studying systematic theology. Which, is really just someones else's idea of how to interpret the Bible. I looked at the teachings of John Wesley, John Calvin, Martin Luther, and others in an attempt to learn the truth of God's Word. I prayed, I read, I meditated, I listened, and at times, banged my head against the wall thinking it was futile. The Bible is just too complicated. But it's not.


Let scripture interpret scripture.


So here's what I've learned and maybe this will help you out if you're having this problem too:


1. Throw out all the doctrines of men when you come to the word of God. Stop trying to make someone else's theology fit God's Word. God's Word fits God's Word. And it's perfect. I get it, great minds have left their voices for us to read and listen too, but when we stake our faith on man, and not God, we're in for problem (Read 1 Corinthians if you have any more questions about that). I think in many way's man's doctrine keeps us from truly understanding what the Bible says. Read it for yourself.


2. Start from the beginning. So many leaders tell you to start at the New Testament. Don't. Start at the Old Testament. When you read any other book, do you start at the end? No! You start at the beginning. Why? Because it lays the groundwork for the rest of the book. Over 50% of the New Testament quotes/references the Old Testament, yet we're taught to read the end first. No wonder everybody is confused as to what's going on. Read the beginning first and the end will make sense.


3. The Lord is unchanging. That's right. God doesn't change. Check out Malachi 3:6 for more info on that. So remember, if there is seemingly a contradiction, it is not God. It's you. It's our understanding of God that needs to align itself with the truth of God.


4. Trust in the truth of the Word. That's right. God doesn't lie. So take what He says seriously. Too often, we read, and dismiss what is taught because of our preconceptions. I am challenging you on this. If your doctrine conflicts with what God says. It's time to find a new doctrine. God's word is true, and it's infallible, and it's righteous, and it's holy. So trust in Him.


I do believe the Bible alone to sufficiently explains itself. I don't believe you need an end times guru, or whatever to "unlock the secrets". Seriously, you don't. There's a lot of complex things going on in the word, don't get me wrong, but it's not impossible. It takes time, and the Spirit. His Word, and His Spirit are sufficient for you to come to a saving knowledge of Him, and to grow in your faith and in your relationship with the Most High.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page